This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Tanzania

Tanzania is made up of 30 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Tanzania. Information on all primary administrative regions in Tanzania.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Tanzania alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Tanzania

There are 30 regions in Tanzania in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Tanzania
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam Region1.2,791,063Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam2,698,652
Mwanza Mwanza Region2.2,772,509Mwanza Mwanza436,801
Mbeya Mbeya Region3.2,707,410Mbeya Mbeya291,649
Tabora Tabora Region4.2,291,623Tabora Tabora145,292
Morogoro Morogoro Region5.2,218,492Morogoro Morogoro250,902
Kagera Kagera Region6.2,189,850Bukoba Bukoba70,628
Kigoma Kigoma Region7.2,127,930Kigoma Kigoma164,268
Dodoma Dodoma Region8.2,083,588Dodoma Dodoma180,541
Tanga Tanga Region9.2,045,205Tanga Tanga224,876
Mara Mara Region10.1,743,830Musoma Musoma121,119
Geita Geita Region11.1,739,530Geita Geita40,000
Arusha Arusha Region12.1,694,310Arusha Arusha341,136
Kilimanjaro Kilimanjaro Region13.1,640,087Moshi Moshi156,959
Simiyu Simiyu Region14.1,584,157--
Shinyanga Shinyanga Region15.1,534,808Shinyanga Shinyanga107,362
Singida Singida Region16.1,370,637Singida Singida62,432
Mtwara Mtwara Region17.1,270,854Mtwara Mtwara96,602
Ruvuma Ruvuma Region18.1,190,348Songea Songea126,449
Manyara Manyara Region19.1,148,070Babati Babati34,291
Pwani Coast Region20.1,098,668Kibaha Kibaha23,651
Rukwa Rukwa Region21.1,004,539Sumbawanga Sumbawanga89,161
Iringa Iringa Region22.941,238Iringa Iringa111,820
Lindi Lindi Region23.864,652Lindi Lindi41,912
Njombe Njombe Region24.702,097Njombe Njombe46,724
Zanzibar Urban/West Zanzibar Urban/West Region25.593,678Zanzibar Zanzibar403,658
Katavi Katavi Region26.564,604Mpanda Mpanda73,338
Pemba North Pemba North Region27.211,732Wete Wete26,450
Pemba South Pemba South Region28.195,116Chake Chake Chake Chake21,686
Zanzibar North Zanzibar North Region29.187,455Mkokotoni Mkokotoni2,572
Zanzibar Central/South Zanzibar Central/South Region30.115,588Koani Koani2,211