This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Tanzania

Tanzania is made up of 30 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Tanzania. Information on all primary administrative regions in Tanzania.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Tanzania alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Tanzania

There are 30 regions in Tanzania in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Tanzania
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam Region1.2,791,063Dar es Salaam Dar es Salaam2,698,652
Mwanza Mwanza Region2.2,772,509Mwanza Mwanza436,801
Zanzibar Urban/West Zanzibar Urban/West Region3.593,678Zanzibar Zanzibar403,658
Arusha Arusha Region4.1,694,310Arusha Arusha341,136
Mbeya Mbeya Region5.2,707,410Mbeya Mbeya291,649
Morogoro Morogoro Region6.2,218,492Morogoro Morogoro250,902
Tanga Tanga Region7.2,045,205Tanga Tanga224,876
Dodoma Dodoma Region8.2,083,588Dodoma Dodoma180,541
Kigoma Kigoma Region9.2,127,930Kigoma Kigoma164,268
Kilimanjaro Kilimanjaro Region10.1,640,087Moshi Moshi156,959
Tabora Tabora Region11.2,291,623Tabora Tabora145,292
Ruvuma Ruvuma Region12.1,190,348Songea Songea126,449
Mara Mara Region13.1,743,830Musoma Musoma121,119
Iringa Iringa Region14.941,238Iringa Iringa111,820
Shinyanga Shinyanga Region15.1,534,808Shinyanga Shinyanga107,362
Mtwara Mtwara Region16.1,270,854Mtwara Mtwara96,602
Rukwa Rukwa Region17.1,004,539Sumbawanga Sumbawanga89,161
Katavi Katavi Region18.564,604Mpanda Mpanda73,338
Kagera Kagera Region19.2,189,850Bukoba Bukoba70,628
Singida Singida Region20.1,370,637Singida Singida62,432
Njombe Njombe Region21.702,097Njombe Njombe46,724
Lindi Lindi Region22.864,652Lindi Lindi41,912
Geita Geita Region23.1,739,530Geita Geita40,000
Manyara Manyara Region24.1,148,070Babati Babati34,291
Pemba North Pemba North Region25.211,732Wete Wete26,450
Pwani Coast Region26.1,098,668Kibaha Kibaha23,651
Pemba South Pemba South Region27.195,116Chake Chake Chake Chake21,686
Zanzibar North Zanzibar North Region28.187,455Mkokotoni Mkokotoni2,572
Zanzibar Central/South Zanzibar Central/South Region29.115,588Koani Koani2,211
Simiyu Simiyu Region30.1,584,157--